my backyard nature

its all about nature!

Round birdfeeder wreath

I used to have a bird feeder but because I had too many unwelcome visitors than I asked for, I had to get rid of the feeder but since its almost spring time I thought I will try to attract my feathery friends again!

DSCF7034

So I made this bird wreath using:

1 pkg plain Knox gelatin
1/2 cup warm water
3 Tbsp light corn syrup or sugar syrup
3/4 cup flour
4 cups bird seed
Note: I used sugar syrup since I didn’t have the corn syrup handy!
Making Sugar Syrup (instructables.com)
Step 1: Ingredients! The classic simple syrup ratio is 1 part water to 1 part sugar, in other words: 1 cup sugar. 1 cup water. …
Step 2: Boiling! To make the simple syrup, combine your desired amounts of sugar and water together in a small saucepan.

You will also need:

non stick oil spray

a  medium or big bowl

a wooden spoon or a whisk

a ring pan/bundt pan if not a round pan with a glass or cup for the center

wide ribbon to hang

DSCF7037 DSCF7038

Coat your pan with non stick oil & if you using a regular pan like me oil the cup or glass you are using so that it comes out smoothly later.

DSCF7040

If you are using sugar syrup make it ahead & mix together gelatin, syrup, flour & warm water until it becomes a paste.

DSCF7041

Now add the bird seeds  and mix it thoroughly.

DSCF7043

Now fill your coated pan with mixed seeds & let it set for at least 24- 48 hours!

DSCF7061

DSCF7072

Then hang it on a place where birds can access it & wait for your friends to show up..

DSCF7069 DSCF7070

Now enjoy the show!

If you found this post interesting, I would be happy if you pin it or share it on Facebook or on Twitter or Google + circles! All it takes is a simple click on the “pin it”, “like”, “share”, “tweet”, or “Google+” buttons below the post. It will keep me fomented! Thanks!

Comments are closed.